How to Delete WhatsApp Messages for Everyone on a WhatsApp Forum or Just for Yourself

WhatsApp’s much-anticipated “Unsend” feature has been rolling out since October 2017. WhatsApp users can now retract messages which they regret sending in the first place. The feature, which is officially called “Delete for Everyone” has also been widely referred to as “Recall” and “Revoke”. The "Delete for Everyone" feature works on all types of messages, including text, images, videos, GIFs and documents.

Prior to this, deleting messages on WhatsApp was only for the user, YOU. Now, you can delete WhatsApp messages after the message has been sent and delivered. This means WhatsApp users can now either delete messages for themselves only, or delete messages from everyone else's phone on a forum so that noone has access to it. However, if your reader has already seen the message, deleting it from his phone may not make him forget.

What you need to know first

This is an exciting feature, however, there is a little caveat you must bear in mind. If you wish to delete messages from other people's phones, you must do so within 7 minutes of sending that message, else you loose the ability to delete it from their phone.

WhatsApp's new “Delete for Everyone” feature
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”

WhatsApp says you will not be notified if Delete for Everyone has not worked for you.

It also warns that, even if the feature does work successfully, there’s a chance the person you’ve been chatting to may have already seen the message before you decided to revoke it.

How to delete messages for everyone

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats (*). Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone. To delete messages for everyone:
  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.
Note:
  • In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.
  • (*) If you or your recipient are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported.
  • Recipients may see your message before it's deleted or if deletion was not successful.
  • You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.

How to delete messages for yourself

Deleting messages for yourself allows you to delete your copy of messages you've sent or received from your phone. This has no effect on your recipients' chats. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen. To delete messages for yourself:
  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  2. Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for me.

Using an iPhone or a Windows phone?

The steps above are specifically for android phone users. If you have an iPhone or a Windows phone, the steps are essentially the same as with android phones but with very slight differences. Learn how to delete messages on: iPhone | Windows Phone

No comments:

Post a Comment